About the Council

The Electoral Council is an independent body within the constitutional system of Sint Maarten. According to the National Ordinance on Registration and Finances of Political Parties, the Electoral Council has been assigned the tasks of the legal registration of political parties and the auditing of the funds of those parties.

The Electoral Council was established to promote a transparent and democratic structure of political parties and to ensure integrity of the political parties, prevention of conflict of interests and the balance of the political process. Its objective is also to promote good governance and a proper financial administration by both political parties and the candidates as stipulated in the National Ordinance on Registration and Finances of Political Parties.

The members of the Electoral Council are nominated by an appointment committee. The nomination is done by the appointment committee consisting of the President of the Common Court of Justice of Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, the vice-chairperson of the Council of Advice of Sint Maarten and the chairman of the General Audit Chamber of Sint Maarten. The members of the Electoral Council are appointed for a term of seven years by National Decree.

The Electoral Council comprises of a chairman, a deputy chairperson, a member and two substitute members. The following persons were nominated by the appointment committee to be members of the Electoral Council: Mr. R. F. Gibson, Jr, (chairman), Ms. N. de la Rosa (deputy chairperson) and S. Sandiford. The appointed substitute members are Mrs. I. Franca and Mr. A. Bell.

Scroll to Top